Palace music concert series 02/01/2022 | 18:00

Kadriorg Art Museum

Palace music concert series

String Quartet M4GNET
Robert Traksmann (I violin)
Katariina Maria Kits (II violin)
Mart Kuusma (viola)
Marcel Johannes Kits (cello)


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
String Quartet in G major KV 387 („Spring“)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
String Quartet No. 6, B-flat major, Op. 18

M4GNET Quartet is a young and forward-looking chamber ensemble from Estonia that consists of four outstanding string soloists: Robert Traksmann, Katariina Maria Kits (violins), Mart Kuusma (viola) and Marcel Johannes Kits (cello). These four dedicated players form a perfect unity to deliver vivid and vibrant performances of chamber music, being highly motivated and already established in their field. M4GNET Quartet was formed in 2021 with the aim of performing the vast range of quartet repertoire from the classical to the most modern musical styles. The members of M4GNET have played together in different formations (dou, trio and quartet settings) for over ten years, but the decisive impulse to form a stable quartet came from the new residency programme initiative of the Cultural Endowment of Estonia.

The objective of the residency programme is to expand opportunities for chamber music and ensembles via supporting the establishment of new ensembles, offering opportunities to collaborate with a manager, and broaden the ensemble’s repertoire by newly commissioned compositions. M4GNET Quartet seeks to perform widely known quartet repertoire and also curiously hidden works from the great string quartet tradition. Special emphasis is put on works from the Baltic States (Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania). Robert Traksmann and Katariina-Maria Kits play on rare violins kindly provided by The Estonian Foundation of Musical Instruments. Recently the quartet was awarded 1st prize at the International Chamber Music Competition KraCamera 2021 in Kraków, Poland. M4GNET has been selected to join Le Dimore del Quartetto international network.

More info: https://www.facebook.com/m4gnet.quartet

Kadriorg Palace is one the most well known and beautiful historic concert halls in Estonia offering memorable music experiences already for many decades. The tradition of performing music in the baroque palace goes back to 18th century when court music accompanied the daily life. The palace has had the pleasure to welcome many international artists and ensembles for outstanding performances. The construction of the Kadriorg Palace was started by the Tsar Peter the Great of Russia in 1718. It was named Catharinenthal (in Estonian Kadriorg) in honour of his wife Catherine I. The palace was designed by the Italian architect Nicola Michetti and its abundantly decorated main hall is one of the most exquisite examples of baroque architecture both in Estonia and in northern Europe. Kadriorg Palace has always been the crown jewel of Tallinn. The small festive tsars’ palace in the style of Roman Baroque, surrounded by a regular garden, with fountains, hedges and flowerbeds, planned after the model of Versailles. The palace was a summer residence of Russian emperors untill 1917. In the 1920s, and again in 1946-1991 palace served as the main building of the Art Museum of Estonia. In the 1930s, it was the residence of the Head of State of the Estonian Republic. In 2000, it was opened as the Kadriorg Art Museum, which displays the largest collection of old Russian and Western European art in Estonia.

The artistic director of the Palace Music Concert Series is Aare Tammesalu.

In cooperation of the Art Museum of Estonia.

Tickets costing 12 / 15 € are on sale at the Kadriorg Art Museum and Piletilevi outlets. The concert tickets are also valid for museum visits on the day of the concert.

Estonian Ministry of Culture The Cultural Endowment of Estonia Estonian Public Broadcasting

In cooperation with:
Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre Estonian National Symp

Check for latest guidelines when visiting:

Visitors’ reminder